A Reflection on Self Love – Be Your Best Self – A Daily Practice To Silence Your Inner Critic
All of us are at different points on the same road of self-love, and while some may be further along than others, that’s okay.
Published on September 6, 2021
published on September 6, 2021

ThePeopleAlchemist Edit: A Reflection on Self Love – Be your best self – #SmashYourCeiling, change starts from within -Business & Lifestyle Experimentation for #TheWomanAlchemist



What does YOUR self-love look like? 


Hello everyone!

Welcome back. As you know, we are focusing on self-reflection for this month and as we have mentioned in our previous blog, the role of self-love on the journey towards self-acceptance is extremely important.

This blog post is about you. It is about your journey and how far you have come.

Have you learnt to love yourself as you would your partner/significant other?

Have you learnt your love language, and have you paid any attention to what you need to love yourself?

All of us are at different points on the same road of self-love, and while some may be further along than others, that’s okay. The most important thing is to be on the road itself. Starting is the most difficult bit, as awareness without action is like food without flavour. You know you need to eat, but it isn’t appealing to dig right in.

So, let us reflect on our self-love.


Your reflection into self-love


As I previously mentioned, Gary Chapman wrote and published ‘The Five Love Languages.’ In that same post, I stressed the importance of understanding your unique love language. Here is a quick refresher on the five languages of love:

  • Quality time – one feels loved through spending quality time which can include long drives, picnics, walks, etc.
  • Words of affirmation – through this love language, one feels loved by praise, recognition, and attention
  • Receiving gifts – this love language does not mean extravagance alone, but through gift-giving, even in small gestures, one feels love
  • Physical touch – for a more tactile approach, physical touch as a love language can range from just handholding to hearty embraces
  • Acts of service – one feels loved by acts of service, whether it’s cleaning up or making a meal

I could go on for hours on each of the love languages, but this is the gist of it. It is important to note that no love language is greater than any other and to understand and accept that we all speak a different language of love.

Remember that to immerse in self-reflection, take a moment to consider how you will ultimately love your significant other because, strangely enough, that tends to be how we want to be loved.

And when you know your love language, act on it.

It is never too late to start your reflection if you haven’t already.

Much love,

See you soon x


Laura Mariani

Laura Mariani

Best Selling Author, Speaker, Change & Transformation Expert


Hi there, I hope you enjoyed this post. Please do provide me with feedback.

I want to hear ‘the good, the bad and the ugly’. If you disagree with me or want to provide a different perspective, leave a comment. Tell me what’s on your mind.

Do remember though to be respectful and kind – we can agree to disagree, no need to be nasty. Thank you.


Laura xxx

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in my posts are ‘affiliate links‘. This means that if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission, for example as an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This is at no extra cost to you. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and absolutely would recommend to my readers.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!